2001 Football Championship


The 2001 Camden High School State Championship team was probably the most dominant in school history. Averaging 36.5 points per game, the Bulldogs defeated Union in overtime at Williams-Brice Stadium in Columbia to earn the school’s 7th and most recent AAA State Football Championship. Under the direction of CHS Alum Jimmy Neal, the team at times during the year seemed unstoppable. But during a playoff game against Wilson, all hopes of a return to the top seemed to disappear when the visiting Tigers went ahead with under 10 seconds to play. On the ensuing kickoff, wide receiver Kelvin Grant returned the ball 88 yards for the winning score and allowed Camden to continue their season.

Neal became the third former player to lead Camden to a championship, joining Wallace “Red” Lynch and Billy Ammons. Neal was assisted that year by Accie Collins, Richard Bonneville, Marc Jones, Joey Hendrix, Joe Blackwell, Ron Duncan, Guy Eckenroth, Brian Kersey, and Robbie Speaks.

Neal was named AAA Coach of the Year and Grant garnered All-State honors.

2001 Results: 15-0
Camden21Lake City7
Camden40Andrew Jackson13
Camden56AC Flora16
Camden56Eau Claire0
Camden24Union21 (OT)
2001 Camden Bulldogs Roster
David AtkinsonTodd GleeAntwan Moore
Thomas AustinJason GodberDexter Murphy
Derek AycockKelvin GrantMatt Nettles
Tracy BennettCasey HancockAlex Peebles
Gray BigginsMontrel HarrisJohn Peebles
John BoykinDarius HoodKhayan Porter
Leroy BraceyRandy HooksDerek Robinson
Jake BroomKendall HowardTyrell Salmond
Marcus BrownArthur JohnsonDesmond Sanders
William BrunsonMarvin JohnsonCharles Starkes
Tony BuieRavee JohnsonSimon Stratford
Donavan BushTerrence KennedyJermaine Thomas
Brandon ButlerCharles KingMarcus Warren
Quinton CarterBruce LeeNick Washington
Dujuan CouncilMatt LenixWilliam Washington
Benny DeBruhlJeff LowderCameron West
Matt EckenrothSherman MathisJarrett Wiggins
Teo EllisEric McCollomBrian Williams
Byron FarnumRon McKieJonathan Woodley
Randolph GaryChannin Mills
Renaldo GaskinsTremaine Mitchell